LOW CARB CRUSTLESS SPINACH, MUSHROOM & BILTONG “QUICHE”

I keep seeing photo’s of glorious looking frittata’s all over my social media feeds, and in an effort to create one myself I came up with this over the weekend as part of my meal prep for work lunches to go.

As it turns out, I created something closer to a quiche than a frittata; and the servings are filling enough to keep your macro goals intact if you’re banting or avoiding carbs, and this keeps perfectly well in the fridge for a week, ready to be grabbed and shoved in a lunch box at short notice.

IMG_20160207_111035

INGREDIENTS

  • 10 eggs
  • 1 cup cream
  • 5ml beef stock concentrate
  • 2 cups shredded spinach
  • 100g biltong torn up into small bits
  • 1 small punnet white button mushrooms sliced
  • 3 TBSP chilli flakes
  • Grated cheese for topping

METHOD

Preheat oven to 180C. In a large mixing bowl, combine the eggs, cream, beef stock and chilli flakes and combine well. Place remaining ingredients in an ovenproof dish (the one I used was roughly 10cm deep with a diameter of 20cm), mix them well, and then pour your egg mixture over all of it. Ideally you want the egg to just cover the top of your dry ingredients. Cover with your grated cheese and pop in the oven for 40 minutes.

And you have a delicious “quiche” that can be enjoyed hot or cold! Easy, wasn’t it?

MACROS

I am LOVING MyFitnessPal; I’m using it to plot my meals in advance to ensure I keep my daily carb intake low, and I’ve now realised I can provide the macro’s for any dish I prepare too, and create my own foods and save them on the app for future use too 🙂 So, here you go, thanks to the app here are the key Macro’s for the total dish, as well as per serving, assuming a split into 10 portions.

total macroserving

 

 

 

Have something to say?

