The problem with Bant(ers)ing

I’ve been following the Banting way of life on and off (I cheat… if you follow my blog at all you’ll know this), and it’s great, for the most part. The food is delicious, you can eat ALL THE EGGS AND BACON you want (sorta, don’t quote me 😉 ), you feel healthier and have more energy, have the chance to share your experiences with others as they marvel at how much weight you have lost since they last saw you, and, did I mention the BACON?

On a serious note though. You know what sticks in my craw? Gets my goat? Yanks my proverbial chain? Banters and the “industry” evolving around us.

The Righteous Banter’s
Join a few FB groups, post an innocent question such as “Is it okay to use honey in my tea instead of sugar”, ad you will quickly identify those I am speaking of. Expect replies like: ” OMG they shouldn’t let people who don’t own the RMR* book into this group they don’t know what they talking about” or “Are you
serious honey (tee hee) ?!?!?!?” or “WTAF that’s on the ORANGE LIST like REALLY” or, for the lazier Righteous Banter’s amongst them, a simple “HAHA”.

You think I’m joking, don’t you? I’m not. The sad truth is, as with any online comments section, these “support” groups have their share of interweb trolls. I saw an innocently asked question on just such
a group just over a week ago and was horrified by the responses. To my knowledge, none of us were born and after having breath slapped into us, had a Banting instruction booklet shoved up our arses (and if you were, please report that – it’s child abuse), so why anyone would feel that they have the right to belittle, mock, and just be downright rude to a “newbie” to the lifestyle is beyond me. You’re the same jerk that goes speeding past me in the straight lane to turn ahead at the robot while I patiently queue in the left turn lane with the rest of decent humanity, aren’t you?

The INDUSTRY
Now I know sharing knowledge is not always free or easy to do, and that research and product development can be a very expensive business. But when you start putting premiums on products because they can carry a Banting or LCHF label on them, and not because the actual ingredients are what you are paying for, I have an issue.
Likewise with all the work shops on offer; the abundance of lectures and now even an online Beginner’s Banting course – 4 weeks for R2950… I wonder if the health of the nation is really your first
interest, or is it lining your pockets? Don’t get me wrong, I realise that the ingredients that go into most convenience banting products are indeed more expensive that “regular” ones (almond flour instead of flour, for eg), but the pricing disparity between suppliers and brands is too blatant to not take note that some people are, simply put, ripping the ring out of it.

Thankfully, the above seems to be the minority and not the norm; as usual the empty vessels are making the most sounds. So before you abandon Banting before even starting, remember, there are valuable FREE resources available online. Go browse Facebook, do a # search on Twitter and Instagram, and find those that are helpful, and not hurtful, on your journey. We’re not all self righteous monsters, I promise.

*Real Meal Revolution book

3 thoughts on “The problem with Bant(ers)ing

  1. Very true about people making nasty comments on FB support groups! We also see other companies asking way to much for simple banting ingredients. We try to keep our prices as low as possible and below the normal Dischem or health shop prices.

    Like

Have something to say?

