The Universe sends you people

I had to share this as the timing in hindsight is just mind blowing to me and I can’t view it as coincidence. It gives me a warm feeling and some feeling of spirituality when things like these happen 🙂

I had a hair appointment yesterday morning and had a half hour to kill, so popped into Wimpy for a cuppa joe and a smoke. At one of the tables was an old man who greeted everybody who came into the section with enthusiasm and a very friendly nature. Most looked at him as if he were nuts, I sat at the table next to him and we quickly struck up a conversation.

He is 58, on a government disability as he is manic depressive and bi-polar, and just ahd a lovely friendly nature. Described himself as a “poet, artist and carpenter”. We chatted about many things and I bought him a cup of coffee, but at one point he looked at me and said “I want to give you a poem Chantal”.

He gave me this, handwritten on a blank ulined page in a scrawled cursive, and signed it himself:

“Past”

Remember me they be glad

Joyous times they had

Say goodbye, all are sad

Wondorous times were had

Leaving home all be lost

Yes the mighty cost

But I will not be bossed

Future times the past

Now be gone without a trace

Heading for a place in case

Survival is the time in place

Starting up again a new venture replace

I related to it in a vague way just from life experiences, but then found out lunch time yesterday that my mom had passed in her sleep Friday night / Saturday morning. So when dave handed me this poem, my mom had already gone.

The universe really is an amazing place.

One thought on “The Universe sends you people

Have something to say?

